The 7 Stages of Dementia

Health professionals sometimes discuss dementia in “stages,” which refers to how far a person’s dementia has progressed. Sometimes the stage is simply referred to as “early stage”, “middle stage” or “late-stage” dementia, but often a more exact stage is assigned, based on a person’s symptoms.

Stage 1: No Impairment. During this stage, Alzheimer’s disease is not detectable and no memory problems or other symptoms of dementia are evident.
Stage 2: Very Mild Decline.
Stage 3: Mild Decline.
Stage 4: Moderate Decline.
Stage 5: Moderately Severe Decline.
Stage 6: Severe Decline.
Stage 7: Very Severe Decline.

This film was written by Jeremy Bray, Darlene Clarke & Jacqui Clarke as a school project at NSCC (Nova Scotia Community College) for their Continuing Care Assistant (CCA) course.

Directed by Kenn Crawford
1st AD – Margie Marr.